Wednesday, August 19, 2009

Joseph Blume 16 Jul 2006

Joseph M. Blume Obituary 18 July 2006:
TRAVERSE CITY — Joseph M. Blume, 82, of Traverse City, died Sunday, July 16, 2006, at the Grand Traverse Pavilions.

Joe was born in Pittsburgh, Pa., on Sept. 30, 1923, the son of Joseph F. And Loretta (Wolbert) Blume. Following graduation from St. Martin's High School, he served with the U. S. Navy during World War II. He then became a member of the U. S. Navy Reserves, and was called back to active duty to serve in the Korean War.

Moving to Traverse City in 1946, Joe was employed as the manager of the North Star Lines Bus Terminal. He was a life member of the Cherryland VFW Post 2780, and was an active member of the VFW Post Honor Guard.

Joe was a great sports fan, especially following all of the Pittsburgh teams. His favorite ball player was Roberto Clemente. Joe loved and lived Dixieland music and jazz. He was an exceptional drummer, playing with the Riverboat Seven, the Steamboat Gothics, the Klankenfelter Trio and many small combos. He was well-known for his interpretation and impersonation of Louis "Satchmo" Armstrong, and was often asked to present that impersonation at different events, including the Rotary Show. His marvelous sense of humor, his jokes, nicknames and many stories will always be remembered by all who were fortunate to know Joe.

Survivors include his children, Gloria J. (David) Morkin, Nancy (Melvin) Kiogima, Patricia Wallace and David Blume, all of Traverse City; his grandchildren, Max, Marjorie and Melinda, Jennifer, Casey, Melvin II, Carey, Kelly, Kody, Carter and Kyan; 14 great-grandchildren; his sisters, Virginia (Richard) Annibale, Jean B. Snyder and Margaret Mary "Peggy" Blume, all of Pittsburgh. Also surviving is his very special friend and companion of 10 years, Marie Vilders of Traverse City.

He was preceded in death by his parents; his former wife, Bette; his son Joseph; grandson, Collin; and brother, Robert.

Funeral services will be held at 1 p.m. Thursday, July 20, at the Reynolds-Jonkhoff Funeral Home, with Deacon Rene Hoensheid officiating. The visitation will take place one hour prior to the service. Burial will take place in Oakwood Cemetery, where military honors will be provided by the Cherryland VFW Post 2780 Honor Guard.

Memorial contributions in Joe's memory should be directed to his favorite charity, the Easter Seals Foundation.

Arrangements were handled by Reynolds-Jonkhoff Funeral Home, Traverse City.

Sunday, August 16, 2009

Men in Korea buried Oakwood Cemetery, Traverse City, MI

Thanks go out to Kathi Farley for this list of burials from Oakwood Cemetery, Traverse City, Michigan. Obits or data found will be added in time.

Norval Leroy Akers 1936-1972

Leland D Albright 1923-1994

Dale Ross Anderson 1932-2007

George Alfred Andrews 1922-1993

Kenneth T Ankerson 1928-1987

Ervin R Balentine 1934-1995

James D Ballentine 1923-1992

Ronald J Barrett 1947-1968

John Robert Bennett 1929-1966

Joseph M Blume 1923-2006

Gerald W Bohn 1912-1977

Raymond C Braun 1930-1987

Gary D Brief 1931-1985

Leonard T Brief 1923-1969

Leo Dale Brink 1930-1992

Walter Duane Brooks 1928-1979

Peter Paul Brown 1933-2006

John Burns 1927-2003

Donald Francis Courtad 1929-1994

Daniel M Dasin 1933-1975

Donald Diehl 1930-1990

Richard L Dillon 1932-1999

Daniel Francis Dobson 1935-1983

Lawrence L Dunn 1927-1980

Harley Wilbur Earl 1930-1962

Earl W Enger 1927-1990

Faustino Ferido 1923-1991

Henry Adolph Friday 1931-1994

John A Gallagher 1929-1990

Norman Earl Gary 1928-1994

Frank John Gleeson 1900-1980

Jerome J Hill 1929-2004

Ralph T Hoover 1909-1970

Claude W Jakee 1934-1992

Gerald John Jenssen 1932-2008

Robert George Karle 1927-2005

Frank Vincent Kennedy 1929-1978

Robert Andrew Komora 1929-1998

Robert G Karle 1927-2005

Jack Lee Liggett 1931-1973

Lyle L Luchenbill 1931-2000

Leonard G Lyon 1920-1951 KIA

Richard Francis Majszak 1927-1952 KIA

Robert Larry Mapes 1933-1982

Joseph Nagy 1924-1982

Carl Charles Russell 1924-1994

Robert D Shea 1931-1988

Max Austin Stephens 1931-1974

Delbert E Thorn 1927-2005

Julius Harold VanEenenaam 1929-2008

Albert Donald Woodcox 1919-1950

David Purdy Wynkoop 1920-1985

Walter J Younglas 1927-2005

Ralph L Zenner 1928-1986